my post Thanksgiving dinner and REAL cranberry sauce

I know that Thanksgiving is over, but I guess I didn’t get enough.  Today, after some intense workouts that were deemed feast-worthy, I decided to cook up another Thanksgiving-themed meal.  Unlike the dinner that we enjoyed at my parents’ house on Thanksgiving, this was clean eating at its best.  Roasted turkey thighs, steamed Brussels sprouts, roasted butternut squash and sweet potatoes with cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg.  Not a piece of bread in sight…

Image

I am especially proud of my homemade cranberry sauce.  In general, cranberry sauce scares me.  I’ve often seen it plopped out of a can and when it finally manages to slide out, it still looks exactly like the can.  It wobbles around and still maintains its form, with ridges and all.  What type of pseudo-food is this?!?!  The good scientists at Rocketboom help me demonstrate this concept in the following video:

So if you would like to steer clear of the jello-like substance (it clearly cannot be referred to as a sauce) found in a can, here is the list of real ingredients that I used in my recipe:

  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 bag fresh cranberries
  • 1 apple, chopped into small pieces
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg

Bring one cup of water and the honey to a boil, then add the cranberries.  Lower the temperature so the mixture is simmering and add all of the remaining ingredients.  Let the sauce simmer for about 15 minutes and then let cool before serving.

One thought on “my post Thanksgiving dinner and REAL cranberry sauce

Leave a Reply

